There was little suspense in local voting as the ballots generally listed only incumbents Tuesday in the general election with the exception being Lanesboro where a challenger did unseat an incumbent for council and two newcomers were elected to the school board.

The Lanesboro School Board had five members seeking three seats. Incumbent David Lawstuen had the most votes with 751. He will likely be joined by newcomers Christine Troendle, a self-employed dairy farmer, with 561 votes and Terri Scott, a Rochester teacher, with 427 votes. The other incumbent, Sara Decker was just 10 votes shy of Scott with 417 while Sarah Pieper had 231 votes.

In the city of Lanesboro, Mayor Steve Rahn was re-elected as he was running unopposed, but for the council TomSmith, a retiree, joins incumbent Thomas Dybing on the council. Dybing received 299 votes, Smith 272 votes and the other incumbent, Ceil Allen, received 193 votes.

In Fountain, Richard Kujath was re-elected mayor and Chad Wangen and Dave Gudmundson were re-elected to the council.

In Preston, Kurt Reicks was re-elected mayor while David Harrison and David Collett were re-elected to the council.

In the Fillmore Central School Board race, all the persons listed on the ballot were winners. Ross Kiehne, Deb Ristau and James Love won re-election easily in the general election. In the special election, Emily Ellis was the winner with 85.8 percent of the vote. Write-in candidates, including the announced challenger Josh Krage, received 14.2 percent.

In state legislative races, Miller and Davids were re-elected to office although they will be in the minority party as the DFL gained control of the Senate and House statewide. Miller polled 57.1 percent of the vote in the district against Jack Krage. He carried all precincts in Fillmore County except Canton Township, Mabel and Peterson.

Davids beat DFL challenger Ken Tschumper with 58.2 percent of the vote in District 28B. He carried every precinct in the county except Holt Township, Lanesboro, Mabel and Peterson.

The marriage amendment, which was voted down statewide with just 47.7 percent support, had a slight edge in Fillmore County with all precincts except Carrolton Township, Harmony, Lanesboro and Peterson favoring the measure. A total of 56.9 percent of the voters in Fillmore County supported the amendment.

The county followed the state trend in the voter ID amendment, voting it down with just 36.7 percent of the voters supporting it, less than the 46.4 percent it received statewide. The only precinct in Fillmore County that had a majority of yes votes was Sumner Township.

For president, Fillmore County voters favored Obama with a 52.6 percent tally, Klobuchar with 64.7 percent and Walz with 61.3 percent. All three are DFL members.

Only incumbents filed at the county level with Thomas Kaase, Chuck Amunrud and Marc Prestby getting re-elected. Leonard Leutink, Pamela Mensink and Travis Wilford were elected soil and water supervisors.