Four people filed for the Fillmore County Commission District 3 seat recently left open by the resignation of Chuck Amunrud.

Mark Gusa, Harry Root, Roger Sanford and Fred Scheevel had filed as of 5 p.m. Tuesday, which was the deadline for filing.

With four people filing, there will be a primary election for this seat to narrow the field to two candidates in the general election.

Besides incumbents who filed for other offices, one candidate filed for county recorder and two people filed for county sheriff. The recorder candidate is Mark Weidemann, who is seeking the position of Dave Kiehne, who also filed for office.

Sheriff Daryl Jensen had already announced his retirement. Tom Kaase and Brian Miner, who had both announced their candidacy earlier, filed for election to the sheriff's position.

District 2 Commissioner Randy Dahl and District 4 Commissioner Duane Bakke have filed for reelection in their respective districts.

In addition to Kiehne, incumbent County Auditor-Treasurer Shirl Boelter and incumbent County Attorney Brett Corson have filed for reelection.

Also, Brian Hazel of Lanesboro has filed for District 1 and Timothy Gossman of Chatfield has filed for District 2 of the Fillmore Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors. Both are incumbents.

In another filing at the Fillmore County auditor's office, Third Judicial District Judge Matt Opat filed for election. He was recently appointed to the position after Robert Benson retired.

Jon Pieper filed for the Minnesota House District 28B at the county office. His opponent, incumbent Greg Davids, filed in St. Paul.

Candidates for federal, state, county and some local offices must file for office during this period for their names to appear on the ballot. However, some municipal and school district candidates for seats that don't require a primary election will file for office July 29 through Aug. 12.

This election year, Minnesota voters will head to the polls to decide a U.S. Senate seat, all U.S. House seats, as well as governor and other state constitutional officers, and all Minnesota House seats. Primary Election Day is Aug. 12, and General Election Day is Nov. 4.