Last week, Burro football players voted for 2013 team awards, and the results are in.

Senior running back Niko Anderson was named Most Valuable Player. He carried the pigskin 196 times for 1766 yards. That's an incredible average of 9.0 yards per run. Totaling 208 points, Anderson scored 31 rushing touchdowns, two two-point conversions, and had another score via airmail. He also rolled up 237 yards on seven punt returns, and ran back four kickoffs for 59 yards.

On defense, Anderson led the team with seven sacks. He was in on 37 tackles, and also punted 16 times for 512 yards.

The Most Improved Player award went to senior running back Gabe Decker, who carried 65 times for 411 yards and four touchdowns. He also ran back 10 kickoff returns for 130 yards. Decker was the fifth-leading tackler with 29 solo stops and 30 assists.

The Special Teams Player of the Year was junior fullback Liam Dorn, who punted 13 times for 470 yards. He also was the third-leading tackler for the Burros, with 33 solo stops and 39 assists, including five sacks. On offense Dorn rushed 21 times for 36 yards and two touchdowns.

The B team Player of the Year was sophomore tight end Steven Rein.

A few more stats for the 2013 season:

Senior tight end Kole Ruud led the team in tackles, with 46 solo stops and 43 assists. He also had two interceptions. Ruud was also the team's leading receiver, catching 23 passes for 412 yards, five touchdowns and three conversions. He also ran six times for 18 yards.

Senior quarterback Garrett Boggs completed 38 passes for 612 yards, eight touchdowns, and three conversions. He also carried the ball 59 times for 509 yards and seven touchdowns. On the other side on the ball, Boggs was in on 17 tackles and snagged two interceptions.

Listed at backup quarterback, junior Will Semmen was the second-leading tackler with 76 stops (including 1.5 sacks). His numbers include 41 solo stops and 35 assists. Semmen returned six kickoffs for 140 yards, rushed six times for 67 yards, and caught three passes for 31 yards.

Junior running back Tylar Miller carried the ball 47 times for 348 yards and three touchdowns. He also caught six passes for 92 yards and another score.

Junior running back Jeremy Hanson had five sacks while totaling 69 tackles (26 solo and 43 assists). Other leading tacklers included junior center Jerael Eddy (50), junior running back Greyson Stocker (46), senior lineman Clay Olson (27, including 4.5 sacks), and senior lineman Tristen Chiglo (24).

Stocker, Eddy, Anderson, Semmen, and Dorn are each credited with forcing a fumble. Olson recovered three, as did Hanson. Dorn, Semmen, Anderson, and Chiglo each recovered one.

The Burros shared the 2013 conference championship with Grand Meadow and Spring Grove, since all three teams posted 6-1 records in SEC games. Lanesboro finished 8-2 overall, exiting section play to state-bound GM. LHS averaged 40.8 points per game, while holding opponents to an average of only 25.9.