Four senior letter winners return for the Lanesboro girls' basketball team this season. They include 5-9 forward Heather Boyum, 5-6 guard Chelsea Hanson, 5-6 forward Kaia Hongerholt, and 5-11 post Lexi Lea.

Last year, Hongerholt averaged 2.9 points, 3.8 rebounds, 1.2 steals, and 2.7 assists per game. Hanson had 2.6 points and .9 rebounds per outing. Boyum averaged 1.0 rebounds, 1.2 points per game.

A strong showing of juniors are on the 2013-14 varsity roster. They include 5-8 guard Bailey Gartner, 6-0 post Olivia Haug, 5-8 guard/forward Rosie Jones, 6-0 post Haely Leiding, 5-7 guard Kayla Leiding, 5-3 guard Maryiah Miller, 5-7 guard Kelsey O'Koren, 5-7 guard Claire Peterson and 5-3 guard Darian Wangen.

Haug averaged 8.5 points, 6.5 rebounds per game last year. Gartner averaged 1.8 rebounds, 1.3 steals and 3.0 points per contest.

Sophomore Olivia Rogers (5-9) is listed at forward on the varsity lineup.

"Our ability to work as a team has been impressive so far," second-year head coach Kelly McMillen reported. "I think our desire to learn and compete will be a huge asset for us too. We are also fairly young (only four seniors) and there is plenty of competition right now for spots.

McMillen said the team is working hard on the fundamentals right now. "We recognize that we need to improve in all aspects of the game in order to compete," he added.

Last year, the team finished 8-19.

The Burros could challenge for a spot in the middle of the SEC pack this season, McMillen reported.

"Our overall goal as a team is to be a team everyone is worried about playing at the end of the year," he added.

Spring Grove and Lyle-Pacelli should be favorites in the conference, the coach noted. As far as section play, those teams will be joined by Fillmore Central, Southland and Rushford-Peterson in the quest for a trip to state.

McMillen is joined by Dave Rogers, who brings three years of varsity head coaching experience to the table along with another season as assistant varsity coach.

Lanesboro is scheduled to open play on Friday, Nov. 29, and Saturday, Nov. 30, at the Dover-Eyota Thanksgiving Tournament.