The Rushford-Peterson Trojans, co-champions of the Three Rivers Conference, brought home the 'bronze medals' at this year's 2013 State Tournament.

Rushford-Peterson, seeded fourth in the tournament, downed Upsala (#2 seed) for the third place trophy, 50-38. The Trojans lost their semi-final match-up with #1 seed, Maranatha Christian Academy, 61-46. In the first round game, played at historic Williams Arena ('the barn'), R-P downed Lakeview Christian Academy, 72-54. Lakeview Christian was the #5 seed, and has Anders Broman on its roster. Broman is the most prolific scorer in Minnesota H.S. basketball history, scoring over 5,000 points in his h.s. career.

Southwest Christian (#3 seed) beat Maranatha Christian Academy, 81-73, in the championship game. SW Minnesota Christian is in Edgerton, Minnesota. Edgerton, population 1,023, also has a public school, which won the state championship in 1960. SW Minnesota Christian has also won state championships in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2002, and was state runner-up last year. Wow!

Minnehaha Academy beat Litchfield, 56-54 in the AA championship. Byron, Section 1AA champion lost to Annandale, 56-42, in the first round. Hayfield, Section 2AA champion, lost to Esko, 60-54, in the quarterfinals. Annandale beat Esko, 59-58, for third.

The AAA championship went to DeLaSalle. They beat Austin, 50-33, in the championship game. Marshall took third in AAA, downing St. Paul Johnson, 71-62, in the bronze medal game.

The 4A championship went to Apple Valley, winners over Park Center, 74-57, in the championship tilt. Edina beat Eden Prairie, 84-49, for the third place trophy. Attendance for the AAA/AAAA championship series was 13, 309, largest showing since the four class tournament was established in 1997.

Tyus Jones, Apple Valley hit 18 of 18 free throws in the championship game, tying a state tournament record. The other record holders are 13/13(Tom Bock, No. St. Paul, 1971) and 12/12 (Mike Johnson, Cloquet, 2000; and, Eric Carlson, Shakopee, 2005). Jones, a junior, is projected as a top choice for ALL the 'elite' college teams in the nation. Tom Izzo, Michigan State, was 'in the house' Saturday night.

That concludes the 'winter season' for up...SPRING!