Lydia Geving
Lydia Geving
Three female Cougar Cagers have won conference honors for basketball excellence.

Mabel-Canton's Lydia Geving joined five other players on the All-SEC first team. She earned honorable mention on the 2012 SEC awards list and All-Conference in 2013.

Conference honors are based on SEC contests only, so statistics typically do not include all games. Since no conference-only game stats for M-C players were available at press time, overall season stats will be used here for comparison.

At 5-8, senior guard Geving averaged 14.9 points per game overall, while grabbing 5.9 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 3.1 steals. She shot 32 percent from beyond the arc, 42 percent overall from the field.

Mabel-Canton's Sara Lind earned honorable mention in 2013, and second team all-conference this year. She played forward, averaging 10.5 points, 7.7 rebounds per game. Lind hit 41 percent from the field.

Finally, M-C senior guard Carly McCabe represented her school on the honorable mention list. She averaged 8.8 points, 3.4 rebounds, 3.2 steals and 1.9 assists per game this year.

Ann Rysavy of Lyle/Pacelli was named SEC Player of the Year. This year marks the fourth All-SEC appearance for the standout senior guard. Teammate Sarah Holtz, a sophomore forward, was also named to the first team. It was her second appearance on the All-SEC list. Holtz also earned honorable mention honors in 2012. No individual conference stats were made available for L/P.

Spring Grove senior Nicki Ellingson made the first team as well. She won honorable mention in 2012 and All-SEC in 2013. Ellingson averaged 11.3 points, 7.8 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 2.4 steals per conference match. She was accurate from the field, hitting 44 percent on the season.

Rio Landers of Grand Meadow is the only center to appear on the first team. She checked in at 6-1 during this, her sophomore year. Landers averaged 15.9 points, 7.6 rebounds, and 2.2 blocks per contest. She hit 32 percent of her trey attempts, 42 percent overall.

Hope Lutheran's Dakota Ellinghuysen rounded out the first team, completing her high school career with a fourth All-SEC appearance. The 5-10 senior forward had 15.1 points per game, 12.7 rebounds, 3.1 assists, 5.3 steals, and 2.6 blocks. An excellent free throw shooter, she hit 75 percent from the foul line, 28 percent from beyond the arc, and 41 percent overall from the field.

The second team includes senior guard Becca Bunne of LeRoy-Ostrander, who made her third appearance on the All-SEC squad. Bunne had 14.5 points, 11.0 rebound, 6.5 assists, 5.0 steals per game. Her career stats include 1,167 points and 1,007 rebounds.

Courtney Walter of Lyle/Pacelli makes yet another All-SEC appearance. She also earned honorable mention in 2011, then All-SEC in 2012 and 2013.

Abbey Loken of Houston makes her third All-Conference appearance. The senior center was named to the second team after scoring 15.5 points per game, grabbing 11.1 rebounds and hitting 43 percent from the field.

Spring Grove junior forward Samantha Bratland appeared on the second team as well. She averaged 14.6 points per game, 8.4 rebounds and 3.1 steals per outing. Bratland hit 45 percent overall from the field, including 40 percent from beyond the three-point arc. She won honorable mention last year.

Lanesboro's Olivia Haug also earned a spot on the second team. The junior center scored 14.6 points per contest, grabbed 15.1 rebounds, lifted 2.1 steals and canned 42 percent of her field goal attempts.

This year's honorable mention list includes a second appearance by Hope Lutheran's Jenna O'Laughlin, a senior guard. Glenville-Emmons senior guard Bre Lundmark made the list, as did Grand Meadow's Rachel Oehlke, a junior guard. Houston sophomore forward Kelly Jerviss and Lanesboro sophomore forward Haley Polin were honored, as was L/P eighth-grade guard Brooke Walter. LeRoy-Ostrander's Sam Siskow, a sophomore forward, made the honorable mention list as well. Senior guard Mara Wilson of Schaeffer Academy and Spring Grove junior guard Lauren Arneson rounded out the field for 2014.