The checkered flag waves as Joe Provinzino wins the Mods Lite feature Saturday night at Decorah. CRAIG MOORHEAD/BLUFF COUNTRY NEWSPAPERS
The checkered flag waves as Joe Provinzino wins the Mods Lite feature Saturday night at Decorah. CRAIG MOORHEAD/BLUFF COUNTRY NEWSPAPERS
Near-perfect weather greeted racing fans when the Upper Iowa Speedway points series returned to Decorah on June 21.

Hometown driver Bryan Webb wheeled #10 into victory lane following the Stock Car feature. Webb succeeded in working his way up from a ninth-place start in the points race. Second went to Dillon Anderson of Rudd, Iowa, while Decorah driver Mitch Hovden took third. Pete Solum of Spring Grove finished seventh while Caledonia driver Jake Lampert took eighth.

B-Mods drew the biggest field with 20 drivers reporting in. Decorah's Dan Hovden won the feature edging Jeremy Schaufenbuel of New Hampton, Iowa. Third went to Brian Mahlstedt of Ionia, Iowa.

Casey Knutson of Spring Grove started in 11th place and worked his way up to seventh by the time the checkered flag dropped. Jon Van Minsel, also of Spring Grove, took eighth. Three Caledonia residents competed with Taylor Knutson finishing 11th, Cole Konkel 12th, and Taylor Skauge 14th.

A Decorah driver also won the four-cylinder Hornets class as Ryan Ayers led the feature from pole to pole. Jay Mensink of Harmony took second, and Arthur Schott of Clermont, Iowa, third. Christopher Schansberg came down from Caledonia finishing fourth. Breanna Lee of Mabel took seventh with her trademark "General Lee."

Cresco, Iowa's Steve Holthaus won the Hobby Stock feature. Second went to Scott Spilde, also of Cresco while Joshua Ludeking of Decorah took third. Chad Olson of Harmony took ninth while Spring Grove driver Jeremy Oakes finished 11th.

When the last checkered flag finally waved, Joe Provinzino of Chanhassen had defeated a field of 17 in the Mod Lites feature. Second went to Curt Luhmann of Rushford while Christopher Eide of Peterson snagged third.

Harmony's Corey Whalen took sixth while John Griffin of Caledonia finished seventh. Mabel residents Eli Hershberger and Adam Rogich took 10th and 11th, respectively.

The UIS season standings find Luhmann leading the Mod Lites with 469 points followed by Eide (407) and Griffin (405).

Ayers is first among the Hornets with 473 points. He's followed by Schott (417) and Lee (391).

Olson is tied for first with Ludeking in the Hobby class with both drivers totaling 424 points. Third is held by Andy Stinson of Cresco at 415.

Stock Cars are led by Anderson with 468 points. Mitch Hovden holds second at 457 while Decorah driver Kyle Falck is third with 395.

B-Mods are led by Dan Hovden with 443. Matt Jones of Waukon, Iowa, is second at 436. Van Minsel is third with 406.

The series will run at Upper Iowa Speedway again on June 28. The quarter-mile clay oval track is located at the Winneshiek County Fairgrounds, 900 E. Main St. (1.8 miles east of U.S. Hwy 52 on State Route 9 and 1 mile northwest on Montgomery Street). Hot laps start at 6 p.m. while heats begin at 6:30.