As Election Day 2014 nears, Preston, Fountain and Lanesboro area voters will see mainly incumbents and a few new candidates running unopposed for several offices. Lanesboro’s city council race is unique this year in that four candidates are vying for two seats.

School boards

Seven individuals from Fillmore Central and Lanesboro School Boards have filed for re-election for the board seats they currently hold. All are running uncontested in Tuesday’s election.

For Fillmore Central, incumbents Craig Britton, Emily Ellis-Onsager, Sue Sikkink and Shelly Topness have filed for election.

In Lanesboro, Lolly Melander, David Ruen and Steven Snyder have filed to extend their school board terms in the election.


Both the mayor’s office and two council seats will be decided on Tuesday with incumbents, Mayor Kurt Reicks and

council members Robert Maust and Charles Sparks seeking reelection.


In Fountain, the city council ballot includes only incumbents, as the mayor and council are running unopposed. Richard Kujath will be watching the election numbers to retain his mayoral seat, and James Schott and Bryan Ostby hope to return to their places on the council.


For Whalan, the mayoral candidate will be Mayor Larry Johnson who is running unopposed.

As for the council, Jim Gustavson and T. Everett Johnson filed to run for re-election as well.


Lanesboro will see several new names on the ballot for council members and the mayoral candidacy. Robin Krom will be running for election as the city's mayor as current mayor Steve Rahn is not seeking to return to his role.

In addition, four residents are running for city council. These include Doug Baker, Marge Drake, Autumn Johnson and Jason Resseman.

Refer to a related story in this issue detailing the candidates views and priorities for the city of Lanesboro.

Results of the elections will be canvassed within 10 days, as legally required.