Incumbent county commissioner for the Fifth District, Tom Bjerke of Spring Grove, did not file for re-election. Lane Zaffke and Dana Kjome, both of Spring Grove, filed for the open seat and will face off in the Nov. 6 general election.

Bjerke, a board member since 2005 and a two-term commissioner, has seen plenty of issues from land rights to the building of the Justice Center during his tenure.

When asked a few weeks ago about filing, he said that he wanted to spend more time at his job with Thrivent Financial Services as his clientele has grown over the last few years.

The Fifth District was increased in geographic size this past April to equalize the district according to population. It now encompasses the cities of Eitzen and Spring Grove and the townships of Black Hammer, Crooked Creek, Jefferson, Wilmington and Winnebago, although it still remains the smallest in population at 3,308.

Board chair and First District Commissioner Jack Miller of La Crescent is being challenged by Judy Storlie of La Crescent. Storlie is a foster parent who works as a child-care provider. Miller was first elected in 2009.

Newly elected Third District Commissioner Steve Schuldt of Caledonia will run unopposed. He won a special election last October to replace Robert Augedahl, who voluntarily resigned.

All three Root River Soil and Water supervisors opted not to seek re-election so that board will see new faces this fall.

For the Third District, Roger Stenhoff of Spring Grove is running unopposed, as well as Loren Lapham in the Fourth District. Two candidates are vying for the open Fifth District slot - Matt Feldmeier and Michael Sieve.