The Spring Grove School District will join school districts throughout the state to salute its local education leaders during Minnesota's annual School Board Recognition Week Feb. 18 - 22.

The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Minnesota's school board members including the Spring Grove School Board, which is charged with governing public education under state law.

Minnesota school board members are chosen by their communities through election or appointment to manage their local schools.

They oversee multimillion-dollar budgets that fund education programs for more than 825,000 students in approximately 2,000 schools. Their personnel decisions affect more than 52,000 teachers and thousands of administrators and support workers.

These volunteer leaders also are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving curricula, maintaining school facilities and adhering to state and federal education law.

Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

"Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education in our community," Superintendent Rachel Udstuen said.

"We salute the public servants of the Spring Grove School Board whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible: Eric Bjerke, Michelle Borreson, Stephanie Jaster, Christian Myrah, Shannon Schuttemeier and Aaron Solum.

"Please join us by saying thanks to our school board members during Minnesota's School Board Recognition Week."