Three Lions have been named to the 2012 SEC all-conference volleyball team, while another has earned honorable mention on that listing.

For a second straight year, senior setter Addison Cross appears on the All-Conference team. She surpassed 1,000 set assists during her final season with the Lions and was also voted as this years' Hustle Award winner by teammates. In 2012, Cross recorded 529 set assists, 72 kills, and 36 ace serves.

Junior middle hitter Nicki Ellingson made a second appearance on the All-SEC squad. Ellingson led the team with 257 kills this season and also was in on a team-high 55 blocks. She was named "Impact Player" in team voting. No MVP was named during that balloting process.

Senior outside hitter Randi Mehus also made the All-Conference team, her first appearance on that elite squad. She had 177 digs and 99 kills.

Junior outside hitter Tara Solberg received Honorable Mention on the All-SEC team. She was credited with 135 kills.

In other team awards, junior outside hitter Aly Folz (63 kills, 18 aces) was voted Most Improved Player. Junior setter Sammi Boyd won the Heart Award. Both were key reserves this season, while the conference-recognized players were starters.

Letter winners included sophomore defensive specialist Lauren Arneson, sophomore middle hitter Kailee Bjerke, sophomore middle hitter Samantha Bratland, Boyd, Solberg, junior outside hitter Heidi Buxengard, Ellingson, Folz, Cross, Mehus and senior defensive specialist Aryn Jahnke.

The Academic All-Conference list is for players who not only letter, but achieved a grade point average of at least 3.4 in the first quarter. Cross, Mehus, Jahnke, Ellingson, Bratland, Bjerke, Arneson and Solberg have earned that award.

2012 All-SEC

Volleyball Team

Player of Year - Belle Sand

(M-C) 3rd yr.


Belle Sand, jr. 3rd yr.

Lydia Geving, jr. 2nd yr.

Carly McCabe, jr. 2nd yr.

Christy Welscher, sr. 2nd yr.

Kristina Mengis, sr.


Jessica Jennings, sr. 3rd yr.

Becca Bunne, jr. 2nd yr.

Megan Grant, sr.


Addison Cross, sr. 2nd yr.

Nicki Ellingson, jr. 2nd yr.

Randi Mehus, sr.


Vanessa Lee, sr. 2nd yr.

Abbey Loken, jr.


Courtney Olson, sr. 2nd yr.

Autumn Thorsen, sr. 2nd yr.


Dakota Ellinghuysen, jr.


Ann Rysavy, jr.

Honorable Mention: Sydney Johnson, Lanesboro; Christine Lee, M-C; Tara Solberg, SG: Sarah Holtz, L/P; Emma Berg, Hou; Rachel Shaffer, L-O; Madi Ziebell, G-E; Audra Durhman, GM: Maddy Tucker, HL; Hannah Harris, Schaeffer