B-Mod drivers Dan Hovden, Eric Verthein and Brady Keefe slide around a corner at Upper Iowa Speedway’s quarter-mile clay oval.
B-Mod drivers Dan Hovden, Eric Verthein and Brady Keefe slide around a corner at Upper Iowa Speedway’s quarter-mile clay oval.
The Winneshiek County Fair races at Upper Iowa Speedway in Decorah, Iowa, featured many drivers in the same five classes that fans have come to expect each week.

Some added competitors even appeared for the special fair showdown. Sponsored by the Winneshiek County Ag Society, the big event was held on Thursday, July 11.

Decorah drivers Troy Hovey and Dan Hovden have continued to battle for the lead on the popular B-Mods class leader board.

Last Thursday, Hovden scored win number two in the feature while Hovey has four victories. Only Kyle Anderson, another Decorah entrant, has broken the string of checkered flags from Hovey (644 points) and Hovden (599). Jon VanMinsel of Spring Grove is third in the points race at 580.

Jake Timm of Winona followed Hovden across the finish line with Chris Weigert of New Hampton, Iowa, taking third. VanMinsel was fourth followed by Anderson. Casey Knutson of Spring Grove took eighth while Cole Konkel of Caledonia finished 18th.

Another large class was made up of small cars, as 18 Mod Lites tore around the track. Gregory Wohletz of Winona got the win in the feature race followed by Curt Luhmann of Rushford, John Griffin of Caledonia and Winona drivers David Benke and Bob Cisewski who finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Harmony's Todd Kiehne came in ninth. He leads the class with 555 season points. Thirteenth position went to Christopher Eide of Peterson.

On the leader board, Griffin is now second in points with 519 while Luhmann is third at 512.

The four-cylinder Hornets race was won by John LeJeune of La Crosse, Wis. He was followed across the finish line by Paul Seabrooke of Elgin, Iowa.

Breanna Lee of Mabel took seventh while Harmony native Jay Mensink was eighth. Luke Onstad of Spring Grove was 10th.

The season total now has Seabrooke leading the pack with 651 points. LeJeune is second with 630 while Mensink is third at 574.

Hobby Stocks belonged once again to Adam Cline of Decorah, who notched UIS win number five on the year. Andy Stinson of Cresco, Iowa, came in second while Steve Larson of Decorah took third.

Harmony native Chad Olson took ninth while Adam Sveen of Lanesboro finished in 10th.

Larson holds first place on the leader board with 637 points. Steve Holthaus is second at 624 while Cline is third with 613.

Decorah driver Mitch Hovden won the Stock Car feature with Lynn Panos of Calmar, Iowa, second. Spring Grove's Pete Solum took eighth.

Anderson leads the class with 627 points. Hovden is second (548) while Dan Jones of Waterville, Iowa, is third (545).

Racing action will return to Saturday nights this weekend with a race on July 20 with hot laps at 6 p.m. and heats beginning at 6:30.

The Upper Iowa Speedway is located at 900 E. Main St, Decorah, 1.8 miles east of U.S. Hwy 52 on State Route 9 and 1 mile northwest on Montgomery Street at the Winneshiek County Fairgrounds.