Nicki Ellingson, All-SEC 3rd year
Nicki Ellingson, All-SEC 3rd year
Two Spring Grove athletes have been named to the 2013 Southeast Conference All-Conference volleyball team while a third has earned an Honorable Mention award on the SEC elite list.

Senior middle hitter NICKII ELLINGSON joined a select group of Lion netters making a third straight appearance on the All-Conference first team. Since 1991, only Shana Brevig, Cassie Glasrud and Jacey Anderson have made three appearances.

Setter JORDAN ANDERSON became only the fifth Spring Grove girl to make the All-SEC team as a sophomore.

Senior outside hitter TARA SOLBERG earned Honorable Mention for a second straight season.

SEC East champion Mabel-Canton placed six players on the first team. Senior outside hitter BELLE SAND not only appeared for a fourth time, but was also named Conference Player of the Year for a fourth straight season, the only SEC netter ever to earn that distinction.

Senior outside hitter LYDIA GEVING made a third-straight appearance for the Cougars as did senior setter CARLY McCABE. Other M-C players included senior middle hitter SARA LIND, senior libero CHRISTINE LEE (who was honorable mention in 2012) and freshman right-side hitter/setter CORANDA VICKERMAN. Junior middle hitter Sara Vettleson-Trutza was M-C's 2013 Honorable Mention.

SEC West champion Lyle/Pacelli placed three players on the first team, all of whom can return next year. Middle hitters SARAH HOLTZ (Honorable Mention 2012) and MADISON TRUCKENMILLER made the list along with setter COURTNEY WALTER. Holtz and Walter are sophomores while Truckenmiller is a junior. Outside hitter Bethany Strouf earned Honorable Mention.

Houston placed two players on the squad with senior outside hitter ABBEY LOKEN making her second appearance and senior middle hitter NATALIE KING her first. Junior setter Alexa Horihan achieved Honorable Mention.

Senior DAKOTA ELLINGHUYSEN represents Hope Lutheran on the All-SEC team for a second straight season. She also played middle hitter. Teammate Bailey Bautch, a senior, earned Honorable Mention at setter.

Middle hitter SAMANTHA SISKOW, a sophomore, represented Leroy-Ostrander on the first team. Senior teammate Naomi Woltmann (at setter/right-side hitter) earned Honorable mention.

Schaeffer Academy placed junior outside hitter HANNAH HARRIS on the squad. Classmate Emily Baber, a junior, made Honorable Mention for her play at setter.

Grand Meadow sophomore RIO LANDERS played middle hitter and also made the All-SEC team. Senior outside hitter Caitlyn Snyder was the Superlark Honorable Mention.

Lanesboro senior Kaia Hongerholt closed her high school career by earning Honorable Mention as an outside hitter.

Glenville-Emmons junior Madi Zeibell played middle hitter and earned a second straight appearance on the Honorable Mention list.

SEC Volleyball 2013 FINAL


Mabel-Canton 13-0 SEC (33-3 season)

Spring Grove 10-3 (19-11)

Houston 10-3 (18-11)

Hope Lutheran 6-7 (11-13)

Lanesboro 2-11 (3-16)


Lyle/Pacelli 10-3 SEC (14-12 season)

Grand Meadow 7-6 (10-15)

Schaeffer Academy 4-9 (6-14)

LeRoy-Ostrander 2-11 (3-24-1)

Glenville-Emmons 1-12 (3-19)