(left) Chase Grinde All-SEC First Team(right) Alex EngelhardtAll-SEC First Team, 2nd yr.
(left) Chase Grinde All-SEC First Team

(right) Alex Engelhardt

All-SEC First Team, 2nd yr.

Statistics used for All-SEC honors refer to conference games only.

The All-SEC boys basketball teams have been announced, and Spring Grove has advanced the "Lions' share" of players to the first and second teams.

Chase Grinde, a 6-foot SG freshman guard, and teammate Alex Engelhardt, a 6-2 sophomore guard, were named to the first team while 6-3 sophomore forward Brady Schuttemeier made the second team. In addition, junior guard Dustin Vickerman has earned honorable mention. No other team in the conference had as many honorees.

GRINDE had the league's third-highest scoring average (20.7 ppg). He averaged 4.8 rebounds per conference contest along with 2.7 assists and 3.3 steals. That steals average was third-highest in the conference. His successful three-point total was 59 (third-highest), and made free throws total (75), fourth-best.

ENGELHARDT, although only a sophomore, made All-Conference for a second year. He was fourth in SEC assists (4.1 apg) with 14.9 points, 6.1 rebounds and 2.4 steals per contest. The sure-handed sophomore dished out an exceptional 2.41 assists per turnover. He also had one of the highest success rates from beyond the arc, hitting 39%.

SCHUTTEMEIER averaged 12.1 points, 8.9 rebounds, and 2.6 steals per game. He canned 57% of his shots from the field.

VICKERMAN poured in 10.6 points per game along with 7.0 rebounds, 3.8 assists, and 2.4 steals per contest. He also had more assists than turnovers during conference matchups.

Lanesboro's KOLE RUUD was named SEC Player of the Year for a second straight season. The 6-0 senior guard totaled more treys (71) than any other player. He also had the top scoring average at 26.2 per conference game. Ruud's 89 free throws were third-highest.

Teammate LUKE ROGERS was also named to the first team, so the Burros and Lions were the only teams to share that distinction. Rogers had the fourth-highest (18.7 per game) scoring average, and hit 43% from beyond the arc.

Hope Lutheran placed 6-0 senior guard JASON KLUG on the first team and 6-4 junior forward ANDREW FRATZKE on the second. Klug was second in scoring (23.0 ppg), third in rebounding (10.4 rpg), and second in made free throws (91). His steals average was the best in the conference for the second straight year, (4.1 per game).

Fratzke averaged 16.7 ppg, 11.7 rpg, and sank 24 triples in conference games. He led the conference in blocked shots, with 3.2 per contest.

TRENTON BLEIFUS of Grand Meadow rounded out the first team. He was fifth in scoring (18.6 ppg) and second in steals (3.6 spg).

Mabel-Canton's NOAH MANNING made the second team, his second All-SEC award in as many years. Manning averaged 10.6 points, 6.3 rebounds, 3.3 assists, and 2.2 steals per game.

ZACH SANGER of Schaeffer Academy joined Manning on the second team with 18.2 points per game, 4.5 rebounds. He totaled 63 triples, second only to Ruud.

Lyle/Pacelli's JORDAN HART won honorable mention last year and second team this season. He averaged 15.5 ppg, 4.5 rpg.

ZACH ROYSTON of Leroy-Ostrander rounds out the second team with 14.9 ppg, 10.6 rpg, and a 70% free throw average. It's the second straight year the senior forward earned all-conference honors. He was the third-best player at blocking shots, averaging 2.0 per contest.

The honorable mention list also included second appearances by SA's Joe Vaughn, L-O's Nate Bunne, M-C's Justin Ward, and Houston's Sam Ross. They were joined by Landon Jacobson of GM, Derek Van Ryswyk from Glenville-Emmons, Noah Jiskra of L/P, Liam Dorn of Lanesboro, and Morgan Rusert of Hope.

A few of their achievements include a conference-best 98 made free throws by Bunne, 2.4 blocked shots per game by Van Ryswyk (second highest), and 3.4 steals per game by Ward (third-best), while Jacobson lifted 3.1 per game (fifth-best). Van Ryswyk also tied Vaughn for fourth-best on the boards, catching 9.2 rebounds per game.

SEC Leaders Boys


1. Kole Ruud (L'boro) 26.2 ppg

2. Jason Klug (HL) 23.0 ppg

3. Chase Grinde (SG) 20.7 ppg

4. Luke Rogers (L'boro) 18.7 ppg

5. Trenton Bleifus (GM) 18.6 ppg


1. Andrew Fratzke (HL) 11.7 rpg

2. Zach Royston (L-O) 10.6 rpg

3. Jason Klug (HL) 10.4 rpg

4. Derek Van Ryswyk (GE) 9.2 rpg

Joe Vaughan (SA) 9.2 rpg


1. Nate Bunne (L-O) 6.3 apg

2. Jason Klug (HL) 6.1 apg

3. Mark Manyuon (L/P) 4.3 apg

4. Alex Engelhardt (SG) 4.1 apg

5. Dustin Vickerman (SG) 3.8 apg


1. Jason Klug (HL) 4.1 spg 2nd year as steals leader

2. Trenton Bleifus (GM) 3.6 spg

3. Justin Ward (M-C) 3.4 spg

4. Chase Grinde (SG) 3.3 spg

5. Landon Jacobson (GM 3.1 spg

Blocked Shots:

1. Andrew Fratzke (HL) 3.2 bpg

2. Derek Van Ryswyk (GE) 2.4 bpg

3. Zach Royston (L-O) 2.0 bpg

4. Brennen Ruis (L/P) 1.7 bpg

5. Aaron Dempewolf (GE) 1.6 bpg

Made 3-pt. FG:

1. Kole Ruud (L'boro) 71

2. Zach Sanger (SA) 63

3. Chase Grinde (SG) 59

4 Austin Peplinskli (Hou) 58

5. Derek Van Ryswyk (GE) 55

Made Free Throws

1. Nate Bunne (L-O) 98

2. Jason Klug (HL) 91

3. Kole Ruud (L'boro) 89

4. Chase Grinde (SG) 75

5. Dustin Vickerman (SG) 59

SEC Boys Basketball - final

*division champions/co-champions


Spring Grove* 18-0 SEC (25-4 season)

Lanesboro 14-4 SEC (17-10 season)

Mabel-Canton 12-6 SEC (15-12 season)

Hope Lutheran 7-10 SEC (10-15 season)

Houston 6-11 SEC (6-17 season)


Schaeffer Academy* 10-8 SEC (13-13 season)

Grand Meadow* 10-8 (11-14 season)

Lyle/Pacelli 7-11 SEC (9-17 season)

Glenville-Emmons 4-14 SEC (7-20 season)

LeRoy-Ostrander 1-17 SEC (2-22 season)