Five Spring Grove players have been named to the 2012 Southeast Conference (SEC) All-Conference Football Team following the Lions' SEC championship season. The Lions won three of the top four league honors.

Senior Josh Olerud has won All-Conference honors for a third consecutive year. He was also named Defensive Player of the Year in the SEC. In addition, Olerud was voted Most Valuable Player by teammates.

Olerud checked in at running back/linebacker. He carried the ball 223 times, gaining 1,658 yards while scoring 34 touchdowns and nine two-point conversions.

In addition, Olerud caught four passes for 122 yards, two touchdowns and an additional conversion. That's a total of 236 points, a single-season record.

He owns three all-time records with 392 career points and a single-game rushing record of 353 yards this season versus Houston. He ranks third with 2,901 career rushing yards, fourth with 355 tackles and 11th with 609 receiving yards.

On defense, the senior led the team with 110 tackles, joining in on 11.5 stops that produced a loss of yardage for opponents. Olerud also got three sacks, intercepted two passes, recovered a fumble, and broke up two passes.

Classmate Brandon Schuttemeier also made the All-SEC team, after winning Honorable Mention last year. This season he was named SEC Lineman of the Year. Schuttemeier also won the team-voted Lineman of the Year Award for 2012.

The versatile guard/nose tackle not only anchored the offensive line, he also caught a touchdown pass. With 75 tackles, 2.8 sacks, and 11.3 tackles for a loss, Schuttemeier was a force to be reckoned with on defense as well. He also led the team in fumbles recovered, with four.

Blaine Storlie also represents the senior class on the All-Conference team. In addition, he won the Outstanding Leader Award in team voting. Storlie carried 56 times for 129 yards and completed 54 passes for 955 more.

Eight passing touchdowns and two rushing TDs, plus one rushing and two passing conversions were recorded by the Lion quarterback, who also ran back 17 punts and three kickoffs.

He closes his career third in passing completion percentage (.534) and fifth all-time in both passing yardage (1,753) and touchdown passes (18).

In addition, juniors Caleb Happel and Nick Holty were named to the All-Conference team. Happel was also named Defensive Player of the Year by teammates.

Playing running back/linebacker, Happel carried the ball 91 times, racking up 786 yards, 9 TDs and 6 PAT (point-after conversions). He also caught 3 passes for 61 yards including 2 for touchdowns.

On defense, Happel made 95 tackles, including a team-leading 6 sacks. He also led in tackles for a loss, with 16.

Holty stepped up at center/linebacker this year. His outstanding blocking abilities caught the attention of conference coaches and fans alike.

Freshman tight end/defensive end Alex Engelhardt has made the SEC Honorable Mention list. When team ballots were counted, he also won the Rookie of the Year Award.

Engelhardt was the leading receiver for the Lions, catching 22 passes for 397 yards. He also took 11 handoffs for an additional 70 yards of real estate, scoring 26 points overall.

On defense, he made 44 tackles, including 5.8 for a loss, 3.8 sacks, and recovered a fumble that he returned 65 yards for a touchdown.

Scout Team Player of the Year went to center/nose tackle Zach Sanness. The junior made six tackles and was in on a tackle for a loss.

Finally, head coach Zach Hauser won the SEC Coach of the Year Award for a third-straight season. That's especially impressive since he has served in the position for only six years.

His Lions have won three of their eight conference championships in the last three years, and Hauser is 39-22 overall since taking over.

Spring Grove is currently riding a 16-game conference winning streak.

2012 All-SEC Football Team

Back of the Year - Niko Anderson, Lanesboro- 2nd yr.

Defensive Player of the Year - Josh Olerud, SG

Lineman of the Year - Brandon Schuttemeier, SG

Coach of the Year - Zach Hauser, SG

First Team All-Conference B-back; L-lineman


Josh Olerud, sr. B 3rd yr.

Brandon Schuttemeier, sr. L H.M. 2011

Blaine Storlie, sr. B

Nick Holty, jr. L

Caleb Happel, jr. B


Brock Johnson, sr. L 2nd yr.

Bryce Benson, sr. L 2nd yr.

Andrew Bell, sr. L H.M. 2011

Trenton Bleifus, jr. B

Landon Jacobson, jr. B


Niko Anderson. Jr. B 2nd yr.

Jarrett Brown, sr. L

Isaac Freese, sr. L


Jake Englund, sr. B

Sam Mlsna, jr. L

Christian Sires, jr. B


Hunter Johnson, jr. B

Noah Manning, jr. B


Derek Olson, sr. B 2nd yr.


Lucas Roe, sr. B 2nd yr.

Honorable Mention: Alex Engelhardt, SG; Collin Jacobson, GM; Daulton Gartner, LHS; Josh Hongerholt, Houston; Donnie Lind, M-C; Andrew Everson, G-E; Tony Steinkamp, L-O; Garrett Lester, L/P