The Spring Grove gridiron gang has voted on team awards for 2013, and five players have been honored. Senior fullback/linebacker Caleb Happel won two team accolades. He was named Most Valuable Player and Outstanding Leader.

Happel carried 201 times for 1404 yards this season (the fourth-best single season in the school record book). He also led the team in tackles, with 97 stops including a team-high 5 sacks.

Lineman of the Year went to senior guard/nose guard Nick Holty. Besides blocking for runners, he made 66 tackles.

Sophomore tight end/defensive end Brady Schuttemeier was Defensive Player of the Year. He had 95 stops and led the team in tackles for a loss (11.3). Those included 2 sacks.

The Rookie of the Year Award went to freshman corner back Damon Cody. He had 42 tackles, forced two fumbles and snagged 4 interceptions.

Finally, the Scout Team Player of the Year went to sophomore running back Gabe Solum. He had 25 tackles and rushed 22 times for 127 yards.

Academic All-Conference honors have also been announced. Those went to Happel, Holty, Schuttemeier, Solum, junior quarterback Keenan Siminski, freshman quarterback Chase Grinde, senior wide receiver Jack Benson, junior wide receiver Dustin Vickerman, sophomore halfback Dylan Kampschroer, senior tight end Larry Schulte and junior guard Harrison Speltz.

Happel won a fourth letter this fall. Senior halfback/linebacker Matt Schleich won his third. Second-year letter winners included Holty, injured senior wide receiver Mitch Anderson, senior center Zach Sanness, senior guard Mikal Guberud, senior fullback Jayme Lenning, senior guard Jacob Lenning, Schulte, Speltz, Siminski, junior lineman Tanner Sanness, sophomore tight end/linebacker Alex Engelhardt, and Schuttemeier. First-year letterwinners included Solum, Grinde, senior wide receiver Kody Olerud, Kampschroer, Cody, Benson, Vickerman and freshman center Jordan Jaster.

At 6-1 in the conference and 9-2 overall, Spring Grove shared the SEC championship with Grand Meadow and Lanesboro.

The Lions outscored opponents by an average score of 43-16. They totaled 2295 yards rushing (avg. 229.5) while giving up only 1725. Passing yards totaled 1142 for SG, versus 617 for foes. Spring Grove also generated more turnovers (29) than they gave up (17).

SG advanced to the Section One 9-man championship game before bowing out to Grand Meadow. The Superlarks have advanced to the state championship round, which will be held on Friday.