Upper Iowa Speedway action heated up last weekend with races in Decorah, Iowa, on Saturday and Cresco, Iowa, on Sunday.
    The same three drivers took the top three spots in the Mod Lites class on both evenings, albeit in different order. Christopher Eide of Peterson scored a checkered flag on Saturday and a second-place on Sunday.
    Curt Luhmann of Rushford took third, then first. Caledonia’s John Griffin began with second-place points, then took third.
    Eli Hershberger of Mabel took sixth on the first night and fourth on the second night. Corey Whalen of Harmony took seventh on Saturday. Adam Rogich of Mabel finished 14th and sixth, respectively.
    Tyler Becker of Elgin, Iowa, won Saturday’s Hornets feature. Second that night went to Ryan Ayers of Decorah, who also won all the marbles on Sunday.
    Jay Mensink of Harmony finished third, then second. Mitch Balik of Fort Atkinson, Iowa, took third on Sunday. Breanna Lee of Mabel finished 10th on the first race date, seventh on the latter.
    Hobby Stocks went to Scott Spilde of Cresco on Saturday while Decorah driver Adam Cline triumphed on Sunday. Andy Stinson of Cresco took second on the first evening followed by Brady Link of Waukon, Iowa.
    On Sunday, Steve Holthaus of Cresco took second followed by Joshua Ludeking of Decorah. Harmony’s Chad Olson finished 10th on Saturday while Tim Olson, also of Harmony, snagged sixth on Sunday.
    Matt Jones of Waukon took the checkered flag for the B-Mods on Saturday and finished third on Sunday. Dan Hovden of Decorah was second on the first night, and won Sunday’s feature.
    Casey Knutson of Spring Grove took third in Saturday’s race and fourth on Sunday. Jason Schlangen of Cresco broke into the top tier with a second-place finish on Sunday. It was the third time this year he had a top-three feature finale at UIS.
    Three Caledonia drivers also appeared on Saturday. Cole Konkel took ninth, Taylor Skauge 11th, and Taylor Knutson 15th.
    In the Stock Car class, Decorah drivers Mitch Hovden and Kevin Donlan finished 1-2 on Saturday followed by Kyle Falck of the same home town.
    Sunday’s feature was won by Iowan Dillon Anderson. He was followed by Shay Curtin of Cresco and Dan Jones of Waterville, Iowa.
    Caledonia’s Jake Lampert finished fifth on Saturday while Spring Grove’s Pete Solum took ninth. Shawn Peter of Mabel grabbed sixth-place points the following night.
    On the Mod-Lites leader board, Luhmann remains in first with 1202 points, followed by Hershberger (1094) and Griffin (1084).
    Ayers tops the Hornets at 1171, with Clermont, Iowa, driver Arthur Schott in second with 1094. Third is held by Mensink with 1053.
    Holthaus leads the Hobby class with 1132 points followed by Spilde (1086), and Link (1076).
    Matt Jones has first place among the B-Mods, with 1182 points. Dan Hovden is next with 1171 while Casey Knutson is third at 1002.
    Mitch Hovden leads the Stock Cars with 1111, followed by Falck (1109) and Dan Jones (1046).