Kai Lidstrom All-Conference
Kai Lidstrom All-Conference
Warrior Kai Lidstrom has earned All-Conference honors from the Three Rivers Conference (TRC), joining baseball players from 10 other schools.

The Three Rivers Conference list included nine repeat selections and was dominated by upperclassmen. Lidstrom was joined by three other sophomores and one freshman while 13 seniors and 11 juniors made the squad.

Senior Will Greenheck of Wabasha-Kellogg was selected for a third time, the only player so honored.

Austin Baab of W-K, Luke Anderson and Trent Reinartz of Southland, Gale Stensgard of Rushford-Peterson, Zach Heaser of Dover-Eyota, Justin Viss and Jake Neis of Chatfield and Dan Gatzke of Fillmore Central/ Lanesboro made the team for a second time.

Lidstrom never batted, but pitched more innings than any other Caledonia/Spring Grove player. As a sophomore, 2013 was his first season on the varsity squad. Lidstrom came on in relief twice before drawing a starting assignment in game four, where he went the distance.

Overall, he appeared in eight of the 13 games that C/SG played, starting four times and coming on as a reliever four times. Lidstrom pitched three complete games. He achieved an outstanding 35-to-9 strikeout-to-walk ratio during 34.2 innings of work, challenging hitters with a left-handed sidearm/ submarine motion. His earned-run-average was 2.42.

The co-op Caledonia/Spring Grove Warrior team was a young team in 2013, losing only two seniors to graduation. Half of eight position posts were manned by sophomores who gained some valuable varsity experience. There were five players on the pitching staff - a senior, a junior and three sophomores.

Tanner Langen led hitters with a .286 batting average. Austin Bauer had the most runs-batted-in (5) followed by Josef Pettit, Harrison Speltz, Blaine Storlie and Seth Twite with four each. Storlie and Kyle Sorenson both managed a .400 on-base percentage.

All-TRC Baseball 2013

WABASHA-KELLOGG: Will Greenheck, senior 3rd year, Austin Baab junior 2nd year, Ben Glomski junior, Jack Purvis soph.

SOUTHLAND: Luke Anderson junior 2nd year, Taylar Schwartz junior, Nick Schmitz senior, Trent Reinartz junior 2nd year

SAINT CHARLES: Derek McCready freshman, Kameron Bailey senior, Dane Mueller senior

RUSHFORD-PETERSON: Fernando Tominaga senior, Gale Stensgard junior 2nd year, Zach Ansell soph.

PLAINVIEW-ELGIN-MILLVILLE: Cole Stelow senior, James Burke senior, Joe Kiehne senior

LEWISTON-ALTURA: Storm Seefeldt junior, John Heim soph., Hunter Matzke junior

DOVER-EYOTA: Josh Hall senior, Zach Heaser junior 2nd year, Sam Wick senior

CHATFIELD: Justin Viss senior 2nd year, Jake Neis 2nd year, Nate Skare junior

GMLOK: Luke Roe senior

FILLMORE/LANESBORO: Dan Gatzke senior 2nd year

CALEDONIA/SG: Kai Lidstrom soph.

Three Rivers Conference 2013

Final conf. season


Wabasha-Kellogg* 9 - 1 19 - 2

Southland 8 - 2 16 - 4

Chatfield 8 - 2 11 - 5

P-E-M 6 - 4 8 - 7

St. Charles 6 - 4 7 - 9

Lewiston-Altura 5 - 5 10 - 8

Dover-Eyota 5 - 5 10 - 9

Rushford-Peterson 2 - 8 3 -12

Caledonia/SG 2 - 8 2 -11

Fillmore/Lanesboro 2 - 8 5 -12

GM/LO/Kingsland 2 - 8 2 -12

* champion