Pete Solum of Spring Grove defeated all comers from a field of 20 cars with his stock car #37.
Pete Solum of Spring Grove defeated all comers from a field of 20 cars with his stock car #37.
A pair of Spring Grove drivers celebrated the Fourth of July with flags of a checkered variety last Thursday, winning the features in their respective Upper Iowa Speedway classes in Decorah, Iowa.

The dance card was full on the fourth with regional drivers from the United States Racing Association's Iron Man Series for Stock Cars and B-Mods joining local entrants.

Spring Grove's Luke Onstad won the four-cylinder Hornets race in car #25, working his way up from fourth to take all the marbles. He was followed by Paul Seabrooke of Elgin and Ryan Ayers of Decorah,

Harmony driver David Lenz was 10th, Breanna Lee of Mabel 11th, and Jay Mensink of Harmony 12th. Caledonia native Chris Schansberg took 13th place

The Stock Car feature went to Spring Grove's Pete Solum, who also started the points race in fourth. He was followed across the line by Mitch Hovden of Decorah, Iowa. Mabel resident Shawn Peter was 18th.

With visitors from far and wide, there were 20 stocks at the track, so three heats were needed to sort out the field.

Todd Kiehne of Harmony won in the Mod Lites feature, making a second straight appearance in the winner's circle. Second went to John Griffin of Caledonia followed by Corey Whalen of Harmony, David Benke of Winona and Kyle Jumbox of Houston. Christopher Eide of Peterson snagged seventh while Rushford native Curt Luhmann took 12th.

Hobby Stocks featured 17 entrants and was won by Adam Cline of Decorah. Steve Holthaus of Cresco, Iowa, was second. Adam Sveen of Lanesboro finished sixth while Harmony driver Chad Olson took seventh.

Another big field was the B-Mods with 20 cars. Troy Hovey of Decorah won his second straight feature in the competitive class, adding 200 points to his season total in five days. He did it the hard way, threading through traffic from ninth position.

Second was snagged by Iron Man entrant Cory Crapser of Chippewa Falls, Wis. Jon VanMinsel of Spring Grove took eighth behind a pair of drivers from Kansas.

With six races now in the record book, the leader board finds Iowan Dillon Anderson atop the Stock Car standings with 536 points.

Hobby Stocks are led by Holthaus (548) followed closely by Decorah's Steve Larson (546),

B-Mods finds Hovey in first (578) with Decorah's Dan Hovden second (499). Third is held by VanMinsel (493).

Mod Lites are led by Kiehne (481), followed by Griffin (428), and Luhmann (417).

On Thursday, July 11, the UIS will host a special race during the Winneshiek County Fair instead of the normal Saturday night races. A fair button will be required to enter the grandstand.

Racing will include all five weekly classes competing for season points. Hot laps start at 6 p.m. with racing at 6:30 at the semi-banked quarter-mile clay oval track.

A new updated racing schedule, due to rainouts, is available on the Upper Iowa Speedway website. http://www/

DIRECTIONS: The Upper Iowa Speedway is located at 900 E. Main St, Decorah, Iowa, 1.8 miles east of U.S. Hwy 52 on State Route 9, and 1 mile northwest on Montgomery Street at the Winneshiek County Fairgrounds.