McAllen(L) and Ayers(R) from earlier this year
McAllen(L) and Ayers(R) from earlier this year
The Upper Iowa Speedway season championships were held on Aug. 31. It was the 13th race of the year at UIS, where drivers have been awarded 100 points for feature wins, 95 for second, 91 for third, and so on down the line to a minimum of 45.

Harmony driver Todd Kiehne won both the feature and the season championship in MOD LITE no. 12K. John Griffin's Caledonia-based K9 took second. Cole Denner of New Hampton, Iowa, was third followed by Mason Schwake of Sumner, Iowa, and Jason Gorman of New Hampton.

The top three spots for the year were identical to the feature finish with Kiehne at 1092, Griffin with 1036, and Denner at 990.

Another Harmony driver snagged a checkered flag when Jay Mensink won the feature in his four-cylinder HORNET. Second went to John LeJeune of La Crosse, Wis., followed by Paul Seabrooke of Elgin, Iowa. Decorah native Ryan Ayers took fourth, followed by Iowan Steve McAllen.

Seabrooke won the championship with 1223 points. LeJeune was only 35 points behind, followed by Ayers with 1078.

In the HOBBY STOCKS class, three Decorah drivers once again dominated at the finish line as Adam Cline took first, Steve Larson second and Joshua Ludeking third. Lanesboro's Adam Sveen worked his way up from 14th position to finish fourth. He was followed by Nate Lerch of West Union, Iowa.

Larson took first on the leader board, finishing the year with 1179 points. Cline was a scant 7 points behind, followed by Ludeking at 1135.

Troy Hovey of Decorah won the feature in the ever-popular B-MODS open-wheel class, followed by Mason Daughters of Polo, Missouri. Junior Boyer of Calmar, Iowa, was third followed by Dan Hovden of Decorah and Jon VanMinsel of Spring Grove.

Hovey won the championship with 1226 points, followed by Hovden (1150) and VanMinsel (1106).

STOCK CARS did not compete on Saturday because of a lack of numbers. Therefore the season championship totals remain the same as last week, with Iowan Dillon Anderson first (1074), Mitch Hovden of Decorah second (1043), and Dan Jones of Waterville, Iowa third (978).

On Sept. 28, the United States Racing Association visits UIS for a regional championship race. The USRA Iron Man Series Championships for Stock Cars and B-Mods runs at tracks from Kansas City to Minnesota, wrapping up in Decorah. Support classes include Hobby Stocks and 600 Mod Lites. As always, hot laps begin at 6 p.m. with racing at 6:30.