Chad Olson currently leads the Hobby Stocks points standings. PHOTO: CRAIG MOORHEAD/BLUFF COUNTRY NEWSPAPERS
Chad Olson currently leads the Hobby Stocks points standings. PHOTO: CRAIG MOORHEAD/BLUFF COUNTRY NEWSPAPERS

The Upper Iowa Speedway points series visited Cresco (IA) Speedway last Sunday and will run there again on Sunday, June 15. A total of six race dates are scheduled to be held at the Howard County Fairgrounds venue this year. Hot laps begin at 6 p.m. with racing at 6:30 (the same as in Decorah, IA).

The ever-popular Liquid Nitro Xcel 600 MOD LITES brought 21 entrants to the June 8 event, which was won by Joe Provinzino of Chanhassen. Provinzino worked his way up from eighth-place in the feature race snagging 100 series points.

Curt Luhmann of Rushford was second followed by Don Werner of Rollingstone. Harmony's Corey Whalen took fourth followed by Eli Hershberger of Mabel. Caledonia driver John Griffin was ninth.

Four Cylinder HORNETS had 10 entries with the checkered flag going to Tyler Becker of Elgin, IA. Mitch Balik of Fort Atkinson, IA was second followed by Jay Mensink of Harmony. Caledonia's Christopher Schansberg took seventh while Breanna Lee of Mabel finished eighth.

HOBBY STOCKS drew 18 competitors. Chad Olson of Harmony won the feature followed by two hometown (Cresco) drivers, Andy Stinson (second) and Steve Holthaus (third). Jeremy Oakes of Spring Grove took seventh.

There were 22 B-MODS at the track. Jacob Bleess of Chatfield took first in the feature, followed by Matt Jones of Waukon, IA, Kyle Anderson of Decorah, and Jon "Lucky" Van Minsel of Spring Grove. Casey Knutson, also of Spring Grove, took ninth. Caledonia drivers Cole Konkel and Taylor Knutson took 16th and 19th respectively.

Shawn Peter of Mabel won the STOCK CAR race with Kyle Falck of Decorah close behind. Third went to Tom Schmitt of Independence, IA. Pete Solum of Spring Grove finished in 11th place while Jake Lampert of Caledonia took 15th. There were 19 of the big machines in the feature.

Season standings find Werner first in the Mod Lites division with 286 points followed by Luhmann (274) and John Griffin (243) of Caledonia.

Ryan Ayers of Decorah still leads the Hornets with 278 points. Second is held by Brandon Torkelson of Elgin (262) and Cody Torkelson (260) of the same home town.

Hobby Stocks has Olson in the lead with 269 points. Joshua Ludeking of Decorah holds second with 259 while Stinson is third with 249.

B-Mods is led by Jones (279) followed by Kyle Anderson (273) and Dan Hovden of Decorah (265).

Iowan Dillon Anderson leads the Stock Car points race, with 282. He's followed by Mitch Hovden of Decorah (279) and Falck (266).