Mostly incumbents have filed for Fillmore County offices up for election in November.

The filing period for persons interested in running for most public offices in Minnesota in 2014 runs through Tuesday, June 3.

As of 2 p.m. on Tuesday, May 27, only incumbents had filed for reelection, except the sheriff's race in which incumbent Daryl Jensen had already announced his retirement. Tom Kaase and Brian Miner, who had both announced their candidacy earlier, filed for election to the sheriff's position.

Commissioners Randy Dahl and Duane Bakke have filed for reelection in their respective districts. As of 2 p.m. Tuesday, no candidate had filed for the seat of District 1 Commissioner Chuck Amunrud, who was resigning from the board that day.

Also incumbent auditor-treasurer Shirl Boelter and incumbent recorder Dave Kiehne have filed for reelection. The term of county attorney Brett Corson is also up for election, but no filing had been made as of last Tuesday.

In one other filing at the Fillmore County auditor's office, District Judge Matt Opat filed for election. He was recently appointed to the position after Robert Benson retired.

Candidates for federal, state, county and some local offices must file for office during this period for their names to appear on the ballot. However, some municipal and school district candidates for seats that don't require a primary election will file for office July 29 through Aug. 12.

This election year, Minnesota voters will head to the polls to decide a U.S. Senate seat, all U.S. House seats, as well as governor and other state constitutional officers, and all Minnesota House seats. Primary Election Day is Aug. 12 and General Election Day is Nov. 4.