Donald Hainlen was reelected mayor of Chatfield while incumbent council member Kenneth Jacobson and challenger Robert Pederson were the top vote-getters for the council in a field of four candidates.

The results were still unofficial at press time as the Chatfield City Council was scheduled to canvass the results of the election at its meeting Tuesday evening, which occurred after this edition went to press.

Hainlen, a retired school administrator, won his second term with 401 votes, or 55.3 percent of the vote. Challenger John McBroom received 313 votes for 43.1 percent. There were 11 write-in votes.

The council race was tight with just 20 votes separating incumbent David Frank, seeking his second term, with 390 votes from Pederson, who received 410 votes. Jacobson, who has already served two terms on the council, had 543 votes and the fourth candidate, Rita Charlton, had 341 votes, according to unofficial results.

In the school board race, all three incumbents, Gregory LaPlante, Jerry Chase and F. Mike Tuohy, reclaimed their seats as the only names on the ballot.

Only incumbents filed at the Fillmore County level with Thomas Kaase, Chuck Amunrud and Marc Prestby getting reelected. Leonard Leutink, Pamela Mensink and Travis Wilford were elected soil and water supervisors.

Chatfield voters followed state voting for national offices, favoring Barack Obama with 52.2 percent, Amy Kobuchar with 64.2 percent and Tim Walz with 60.9 percent. They also supported Jeremy Miller as state senator with 57.6 percent of the vote and Greg Davids as state representative with 57.6 percent.