Jerad Goldsmith (106#, 3-0), Hank Friederichs (120#, 3-0), Alex Haffner

(138#, 2-0) and Ryan Meeker (145#, 2-0) all finished first at the Mike

Fasnacht Memorial wrestling tournament, hosted by WEM/JWP. Harvey

Friederichs (132#, 2-1) finished second.

Picking up bronze medals were A.J. Riley (126#, 2-1), Sam Fryer (182#,

2-1) and Justin Viss (195#, 2-1). Capturing fourth place was Ty Van Sickle

(113#, 1-2), with fifth places going to Ethan Wright (152#, 1-1) and Jayton

Nisbit (285#, 0-1). Also wrestling for the Gophers, but not placing were Tye

Bentz (126#, 0-2) and Jacob Bleess (220#, 0-2).

Team scoring: Jackson County Central (JCC) 233,

Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton (WEM/JWP) 207,

Chatfield 203, Owatonna 161, St.Charles 129.5, Totino-Grace 118, Northfield

107, Medford 83.5, Triton 69, St. Clair/Mankato Loyola 58.5.

Here is a summany of how each of the Chatfield wrestlers did at the

WEM/JWP tournament, with their (current overall record).

Goldsmith (30-3)...won by fall (Noah Van Cleave, Northfield, 2:54); won

5-4 (Peyton Robb, Owatonna); won 6-5 (Seth Elwood, Medford) in the

championship match.

Van Sickle (18-13)...won by fall (Brenden Buryska, Owatonna,3:45); lost by

fall (Skyler Petry, WEM/JWP, :26); lost 9-6 (Kyle Edlin, JCC) in third place


Hank Friederichs (32-1)...won by fall (Dakota Rossow, JCC, :57); won by

major decision (Alex Green, Owatonna, 12-2); won 3-2 (Jordan Biehn, JCC), in

double overtime, for the gold medal.

Tye Bentz (12-10)...lost 8-2 (Matt Metcalf, Northfield); lost 4-0 (Bryce

Flowers, St. Clair/Loyola).

A.J. Riley (30-3)...won by fall(Blake Goodwin, Owatonna, 2:47); lost

5-1(Patrick Ramirez, Triton); won by major decision (Matt Metcalf,

Northfield, 11-1) for third place.

Harvey Friederichs(31-2)...won by fall(Javis VonRuden, Medford, :55); won

by fall (Cody Ball, St. Charles, :46); lost 3-1(Eliot Jurries, JCC) in the

championship match.

Alex Haffner (32-1)...bye; won by major decision (Dylan Boettcher,

St.Clair/Loyola, 14-3); won 6-2 (Carson Canedy, Northfield) for first.

Ryan Meeker (24-10)...bye; won 11-6(Justin Mueller, Owatonna); won 6-2

(Dane Mueller, St. Charles) for the gold medal.

Ethan Wright (16-16)...lost 5-0 (Cade Guimond, Owatonna); won by fall

(Brendan Dimmel, WEM/JWP, 3:35) for fifth place.

Sam Fryer(10-14)...won 4-3 (Casey Lang, Triton); lost a major

decision(Jose Ruiz, Northfield, 11-3); won by fall (Brendan Marzahn,

WEM/JWP, :57) for the bronze medal.

Justin Viss (24-7)...won by fall (Kyle Budach, WEM/JWP, :30); lost

13-6(Lucas Etchason, Triton); won by injury default (Zak Bakkko, Northfield)

to take third place.

Jacob Bleess (19-12)...lost by fall (Nathan Elzen, Medford, 5:16); lost

7-2 (Hunter Jirele, Owatonna).

Jayton Nisbit (3-7)...lost by fall (Landon Majerus, St. Charles, 5:29);

bye win for fifth place.

Monday night the Gophers hosted a double-dual with

Plainview-Elgin-Millville and Dover-Eyota. Thursday night the 'grapplers'

will travel to Zumbrota-Mazeppa for another double-dual involving section

rivals Lake City (6:30 p.m.) and Z-M (8:00 p.m.).