The Three River's Conference and the Hiawatha Valley Conference have

joined together starting in the fall of 2013 to form a three-division

conference for football only. As with previous years, the rest of

Chatfield's athletic programs will remain in the Three Rivers Conference.

However, Winona Cotter has been approved to join the Three Rivers Conference

starting next school year in all sports.

The name of the new football conference will be the Southern Football

Alliance. The conference is broken up into three divisions based on school

enrollment. The Red Division will have the eight biggest schools, the White

Division has the next eight schools, and the Blue Division will consist of

the smallest nine schools. Enrollment will be reevaluated every two years.

Chatfield will be in the Blue Division for the first two year cycle.

We will play the other eight teams in our division during the season

(Caledonia, Fillmore Central, Goodhue, Hayfield, Kingsland,

Rushford-Peterson, Southland, and Wabasha-Kellogg). To make this work,

every team in the Blue division will get a bye during the season.

Chatfield's bye for season one will be MEA week (Oct. 14-18). Having this

extra week will change when the traditional football season begins. This

will cause the football season to start one week earlier because of practice

requirements set by the Minnesota State High School League. For this coming

fall, practices for all 7-12 football players will begin Aug. 5.

Jr. high football will play their first game Aug. 20 and their game

schedule will be somewhat different than the Varsity. The "B" and 9th grade

will play the same teams as the Varsity, but not until the following week.