Latest Preston, Minnesota, weather
weather sponsored by

Advanced Search
search sponsored by

Advertiser specials



Business search

Best of Bluff Country

Email Directory



Submit news/letters

Happy ads

Photo gallery

Minnesota news

Special sections/topics

Electronic newsletter signup

Tri-County Record

Destination: Bluff Country

RSS feeds

Contact us

Reader Poll
Poll Result

With a few exceptions, state law currently prohibits schools from starting before Labor Day. A bill was introduced in the Legislature to change that. Should state law change?

Yes, schools should be able to start before Labor Day

No, keep the schedule as it is

I'm not sure

Carlson Craft
Bluff Country Printing Services


Kingsland school

home : spring valley tribune : spring valley area news July 9, 2014

11/13/2012 1:24:00 PM
Kingsland has new board members; voters choose winners in city elections
By David Phillips

Kingsland has a couple new school board members as a result of voting in the general election last Tuesday.

Only two names were on the ballot for the school board election, but three positions were open. Incumbent Kristin Beck received 1,899 votes and newcomer Gwen Howard received 1,709 votes.

For the third position, which was determined by write-in voting, Troy Asher was the winner with 163 votes. Sean McCaslin received 102 votes. There were a total of 538 write-in votes out of the 3,792 votes cast in the election.

In area municipal races decided by voters Tuesday, Ostrander had close voting while Wykoff voters were more split and Spring Valley had only incumbents on the ballot.

In Ostrander, it was an extremely tight race for council with Heidi Jones getting 67 votes, Erin Brugh getting 59 votes, John Schraeder 57 votes and Vernon Thompson 49 votes. Voters chose two people for the two open positions. Patrick Nesler ran unopposed for mayor.

In Wykoff, two former city council members faced off for mayor with Lyman Hare winning with 70 percent of the vote over Tim Grabau. For the two open council seats, Mitchell Grabau had 180 votes, Megan Larson 152 votes and Gerald Jacobson had 56 votes.

Only incumbents filed in Spring Valley. Jim Struzyk was reelected mayor while Jeff Vehrenkamp and Bill Bires were reelected to the council.

Spring Valley Greenhouse

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site, but every effort will be made to minimize the delay for any submission.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number and e-mail address is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment. Some comments may be published in our Web Watch column in the newspaper.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Bluff Country Newspaper Group
507-346-7365 •
Site Design and Content
Copyright 2014 1up!

Software © 1998-2014 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved