Jon VanMinsel of Spring Grove shown on three wheels during some mid-season racing action.
Jon VanMinsel of Spring Grove shown on three wheels during some mid-season racing action.

Racing fans got a double dose of feature races on Sept. 1 at the Upper Iowa Speedway in Decorah, Iowa, as the season championships brought approximately 80 drivers to the track.

Feature races had been canceled after heats on Aug. 25 due to rain, but the drivers who qualified for those points and purse paying events got to finish that day's competition, as well as vie for a second series of features on the first of September.

In the B-Mods class, Brian Mahlstedt of Ionia, Iowa, won both features. Casey Knutson of Spring Grove finished fourth in the second.

Fifth place finishes went to Nathan Lerch of West Union, Iowa, and Mike Kelly of Lanesboro. Kelly also took 11th place in the other feature finish. Spring Grove's Jon Van Minsel grabbed ninth in one race and 10th in the other.

Stock Car driver Mitch Hovden of Decorah won one feature and took second in the other. Matt Jones of Waukon took a first place and an 11th. Andrew Kelley of Minnesota scored a second place, and a seventh. Pete Solum of Spring Grove got third in the first feature and fifth place in the second race.

Dan Hovden also grabbed a first and second in the multi-feature event. Hovden and fellow Decorah driver Adam Cline finished 1-2 in the first Hobby Stocks race, while Dillon Anderson of Rudd, Iowa, took the checkered flag in the second.

Justin Bigler of Dorchester, Iowa, took an eighth and ninth. Lanesboro's Adam Sveen had an 11th and 12th place feature finish. Chad Olson of Harmony finished 14th in one feature and 15th in the other.

Mod-Lites features were won by Curt Luhmann of Rushford and Don Wermer of Rollingstone. Seconds went to Bob Cisewski of Winona and John Griffin of Caledonia. Chris Denner of New Hampton and Cory Whalen of Harmony grabbed fifth-place finishes.

Both Four-cylinder Hornets features were won by Jay Mensink of Harmony, who also won the season championship.

2012 Points Championships

B Mods: First place went to Mahlstedt, with 1,287 points. Fourth was won by Casey Knutson with 994 points. VanMinsel took sixth with 990. Taylor Knutson of Caledonia finished 21st with 444. Kelly took 23rd at 408. Caledonia's Cole Konkel was 34th with 167 points. Jeremy Oakes of Spring Grove was 41st with 70 points.

Stock Cars: Mitch Hovden finished in first, with 1,325 points. Fifth went to Solum, who scored 1,082 season points. Jake Lampert of Caledonia had 1,020, good for seventh place. Mabel's Shawn Peter finished 13th with 554 points.

Hobby Stocks: Cline won the season championship, with 1,127 points. Olson had 711 points for the year, good for 13th. Sveen finished in 14th with 662. Bigler took 16th place with 452 points. Tim Olson of Lanesboro was 27th with 64 points, just two points ahead of Casey Colsch of Eitzen in 29th place for the season.

600 Mod Lites: Luhmann won first place with 1096 points. Griffin took second, at 1,066. Third went to Denner with 941. Chris Eide of Rushford took fourth at 931. Fifth place went to Wohletz with 805. Harmony's Todd Kiehne won sixth place with a total of 729. Fellow Harmony driver Corey Whalen took 11th place with 334 points. Nick Wagner of Lanesboro was 18th, with 64 points.

Hornets: Mensink drove away with 1150 points earning first place. Christopher Schansberg of Caledonia was 10th with 335 points. Mike Schansberg also of Caledonia was 26th with 76 points. Brandon Rask of Caledonia was 29th with 45 points.

Congratulations to all of our area and local drivers! Watch next spring for coverage of the UIS driver awards and weekly racing highlights!