Spring Grove senior Josh Olerud received Honorable Mention on the Associated Press 2012 All-State Football Team. This honor covers all seven classes from nine-man up through Class AAAAAA.

Named to the Second Team were Grand Meadow tight end Bryce Benson and Caledonia defensive back Alex Varney.

Other area gridders receiving Honorable Mention include Grand Meadow junior quarterback Trenton Bleifus plus six other seniors from Caledonia's state championship team: running back Ryan Pitts, offensive lineman Jeremy DeWall, defensive linemen Collin Coffield and Kevin Lapham as well as linebackers Zach Kasten and Levi Schmitz.

Also on the Honorable Mention list were Jacob Ristau and Dan Gatzke of Fillmore Central.

Olerud, a three-time All-Conference selection, was previously named the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year in the Southeast Conference.

The senior standout was the Lions' Most Valuable Player and graduates after breaking the Spring Grove season and career scoring records.